picture of front of Whitman College
Whitman College is one of Princeton University's six residential colleges. As a four-year college, Whitman houses and advises freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors. Resident graduate students, faculty fellows, and a dedicated college administrative staff are also part of this learning community. The college is named after Meg Whitman ’77, one of the world's preeminent business leaders. A theater, studios, classrooms, common spaces, and a dining hall known as Community Hall are all within the college. About 500 undergraduates live in seven residence halls: Fisher Hall, Wendell Hall, Murley-Pivirotto Family Tower, Hargadon Hall, Lauritzen Hall, Baker Hall, and 1981 Hall. Additionally, juniors and seniors who elect to live in upperclass housing also return to the college for non-departmental advising and college events. Inaugurated in the fall of 2007, Whitman College is forging new traditions to further strengthen the deep sense of community that characterizes educational life at Princeton.